Trial results, with context

Every figure shows its comparison group, analysis approach, funding and limits. Check the badge to see how well each one has been verified.

Do not compare across trials. The bars below use one scale so they are easy to read, but the trials enrolled different people, ran for different lengths and used different designs.

Semaglutide

STEP 1

  • Semaglutide 2.4 mg weekly−14.9%
  • Placebo−2.4%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
1,961 adults with obesity, or overweight plus at least one weight-related condition, without diabetes
Length
68 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with lifestyle support in both groups
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 68
Analysis approach
Regardless of treatment discontinuation or rescue treatment
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 86.4% with semaglutide vs 31.5% with placebo. At least 10%: 69.1% vs 12.0%. At least 15%: 50.5% vs 4.9%.
Safety
Nausea and diarrhea were the most common side effects. Stopping treatment because of gastrointestinal events: 4.5% vs 0.8%.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Participants did not have diabetes. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Wilding JPH 2021

STEP 5

  • Semaglutide 2.4 mg weekly−15.2%
  • Placebo−2.6%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
304 adults with obesity, or overweight plus at least one weight-related condition, without diabetes
Length
104 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with a behavioral program in both groups
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 104
Analysis approach
Regardless of treatment discontinuation or rescue treatment
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 77.1% vs 34.4%.
Safety
Gastrointestinal events, mostly mild to moderate, were reported by 82.2% with semaglutide and 53.9% with placebo.
Limits
A smaller trial than STEP 1. Funded by the manufacturer, and some authors work for the company.

Sources: Garvey WT 2022

OASIS 4

  • Oral semaglutide 25 mg daily−13.6%
  • Placebo−2.2%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
307 adults with obesity, or overweight plus at least one obesity-related complication, without diabetes (205 oral semaglutide, 102 placebo)
Length
64 weeks
Compared with
Placebo once daily, with lifestyle support in both groups
What was measured
Estimated average change in body weight at week 64
Analysis approach
Not stated in the abstract. Check the full paper.
Other results
More people on oral semaglutide reached weight reductions of at least 5%, 10%, 15% and 20%. A trade-press report cites 16.6% vs 2.7% for time on treatment. That is a different analysis from the abstract's figures, so check which one a number comes from.
Safety
Gastrointestinal adverse events: 74.0% with oral semaglutide vs 42.2% with placebo.
Limits
A smaller trial than the injectable semaglutide program. Funded by the manufacturer.

Sources: Wharton S 2025, FDA approves Wegovy pill, the first oral GLP-1 to treat obesity

STEP 8

  • Semaglutide 2.4 mg weekly−15.8%
  • Liraglutide 3.0 mg daily−6.4%
  • Placebo (pooled)−1.9%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
338 adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition, without diabetes, at 19 U.S. sites
Length
68 weeks
Compared with
Daily liraglutide 3.0 mg and a pooled placebo group. Semaglutide and liraglutide were compared open label.
What was measured
Average percent change in body weight at week 68
Analysis approach
Mean change from baseline. The placebo comparison was a supportive secondary result.
Other results
Weight loss of at least 10%: 70.9% with semaglutide vs 25.6% with liraglutide. At least 15%: 55.6% vs 12.0%. At least 20%: 38.5% vs 6.0%.
Safety
Gastrointestinal events: 84.1% with semaglutide vs 82.7% with liraglutide. Stopping treatment for any reason: 13.5% vs 27.6%.
Limits
The two active drugs were compared open label. Several authors work for Novo Nordisk, which makes semaglutide. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Rubino DM 2022

STEP UP

  • Semaglutide 7.2 mg weekly−18.7%
  • Semaglutide 2.4 mg weekly−15.6%
  • Placebo−3.9%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
1,407 adults with a body mass index of 30 or higher, without diabetes; average weight 113 kg and 73.7% were women
Length
72 weeks
Compared with
Semaglutide 2.4 mg and placebo, with a lifestyle program in all groups
What was measured
Average percent change in body weight at week 72
Analysis approach
Treatment-policy estimand: effects regardless of whether people stayed on treatment.
Other results
On average the 7.2 mg group lost 3.1 percentage points more than the 2.4 mg group (95% confidence interval for the difference: 1.6 to 4.7 points).
Safety
Gastrointestinal events: 70.8% with 7.2 mg, 61.2% with 2.4 mg and 42.8% with placebo. Altered skin sensation (dysaesthesia): 22.9%, 6.0% and 0.5%. Serious adverse events: 6.8%, 10.9% and 5.5%.
Limits
Funded by Novo Nordisk. Participants did not have diabetes. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Wharton S 2025, Wegovy HD (semaglutide 7.2 mg) approved in the US, providing 20.7% mean weight loss

Tirzepatide

SURMOUNT-1

  • Tirzepatide 5 mg weekly−15.0%
  • Tirzepatide 10 mg weekly−19.5%
  • Tirzepatide 15 mg weekly−20.9%
  • Placebo−3.1%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
2,539 adults with obesity, or overweight plus at least one weight-related complication, without diabetes
Length
72 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, including a 20-week dose-escalation period
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 72
Analysis approach
Treatment-regimen estimand: effects regardless of treatment discontinuation
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 85%, 89% and 91% across the three doses vs 35% with placebo. At least 20%: 50% (10 mg) and 57% (15 mg) vs 3%.
Safety
Most side effects were gastrointestinal, mostly mild to moderate, and mainly during dose escalation. Stopping treatment because of side effects: 4.3%, 7.1% and 6.2% across the three doses vs 2.6% with placebo.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Participants did not have diabetes. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Jastreboff AM 2022

SURMOUNT-5

  • Tirzepatide, highest tolerated dose (10 mg or 15 mg weekly)−20.2%
  • Semaglutide, highest tolerated dose (1.7 mg or 2.4 mg weekly)−13.7%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
751 adults with obesity but without type 2 diabetes
Length
72 weeks
Compared with
Semaglutide, head to head. Open label, so participants and staff knew which drug was used. No placebo group.
What was measured
Average percent change in body weight at week 72
Analysis approach
Least-squares mean change from baseline to week 72, as reported in the abstract.
Other results
Waist circumference fell 18.4 cm with tirzepatide vs 13.0 cm with semaglutide. More people on tirzepatide reached weight loss of at least 10%, 15%, 20% and 25%.
Safety
Gastrointestinal effects were the most common side effects in both groups. Most were mild to moderate and happened mainly while the dose was being raised.
Limits
Funded by Eli Lilly, the maker of tirzepatide. Open label. Each person took the highest dose they could tolerate, so the doses were not identical across people. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Aronne LJ 2025

Orforglipron

ATTAIN-1

  • Orforglipron, lowest dose arm−7.5%
  • Orforglipron, middle dose arm−8.4%
  • Orforglipron, highest dose arm−11.2%
  • Placebo−2.1%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
3,127 adults with obesity, without diabetes
Length
72 weeks
Compared with
Placebo once daily, with a healthy diet and physical activity in all groups
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 72
Analysis approach
Treatment-regimen estimand in the intention-to-treat population: effects regardless of treatment discontinuation
Other results
In the highest-dose group, 54.6% lost at least 10% of body weight, 36.0% at least 15% and 18.4% at least 20%, versus 12.9%, 5.9% and 2.8% on placebo. The manufacturer's headline figure for the highest dose is larger because it counts only participants while they were taking the drug. Compare trials only on the same estimand.
Safety
Stopping treatment because of side effects: 5.3% to 10.3% across the three orforglipron groups vs 2.7% with placebo. The most common side effects were gastrointestinal and mostly mild to moderate.
Limits
Funded by Eli Lilly. Participants did not have diabetes. The tablet strengths used in the trial were named differently in later publications and do not all match the marketed strengths, so check the Foundayo label for what is sold. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Wharton S 2025, ATTAIN-1 trial record (NCT05869903), Foundayo (orforglipron) tablets: prescribing information

Retatrutide

Retatrutide phase 2 (obesity)

  • Retatrutide 1 mg weekly−8.7%
  • Retatrutide 4 mg weekly (groups combined)−17.1%
  • Retatrutide 8 mg weekly (groups combined)−22.8%
  • Retatrutide 12 mg weekly−24.2%
  • Placebo−2.1%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
338 adults with obesity, or overweight plus at least one weight-related condition
Length
48 weeks
Compared with
Placebo once weekly. Some dose groups started at 2 mg and others at 4 mg, to compare starting amounts
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 48
Analysis approach
Least-squares mean change from baseline, as reported in the abstract
Other results
At 24 weeks, the primary endpoint, the average change was -7.2% (1 mg), -12.9% (4 mg), -17.3% (8 mg) and -17.5% (12 mg) vs -1.6% with placebo. At 48 weeks, weight loss of at least 15% occurred in 60% (4 mg), 75% (8 mg) and 83% (12 mg) of participants vs 2% with placebo.
Safety
The most common side effects were gastrointestinal, increased with dose, were mostly mild to moderate, and were partly reduced by the lower 2 mg starting amount. Heart rate rose in a dose-dependent way, peaked at 24 weeks and declined afterward.
Limits
Phase 2 trial with 338 participants, so it was not built to settle rare side effects. Funded by the manufacturer. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Jastreboff AM 2023

TRIUMPH-1

  • Retatrutide 4 mg weekly−17.6%
  • Retatrutide 9 mg weekly−23.7%
  • Retatrutide 12 mg weekly−25.0%
  • Placebo−3.9%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
2,339 adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition, without diabetes
Length
80 weeks
Compared with
Placebo once weekly
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 80
Analysis approach
Treatment-regimen estimand: effects regardless of treatment discontinuation
Other results
Among participants with knee osteoarthritis, knee pain scores (1 to 10 scale) fell by 3.4, 3.9 and 4.1 points across the three doses vs 2.5 with placebo. Among participants with obstructive sleep apnea, breathing interruptions fell by 22.8, 34.3 and 32.1 events per hour vs 9.6 with placebo.
Safety
The most common side effects were gastrointestinal. The abstract does not give percentages for them, so see the full paper.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Participants did not have diabetes. Sponsor press releases quote larger numbers because they use a different calculation, so the figures differ. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Jastreboff AM 2026, TRIUMPH-1 trial record (NCT05929066)

TRIUMPH-2

  • Retatrutide 4 mg weekly−11.9%
  • Retatrutide 9 mg weekly−16.8%
  • Retatrutide 12 mg weekly−18.8%
  • Placebo−5.1%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
1,152 adults with obesity and type 2 diabetes
Length
80 weeks
Compared with
Placebo once weekly, added to the participants' existing diabetes treatment
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 80
Analysis approach
Treatment-regimen estimand: effects regardless of treatment discontinuation
Other results
Differences from placebo were -6.9, -11.8 and -13.8 percentage points across the three doses.
Safety
Diarrhea: 27%, 34% and 34% across the three doses vs 13% with placebo. Nausea: 14%, 21% and 28% vs 8%. Low blood pressure and abnormal skin sensations (dysesthesia) were also more frequent than with placebo. Stopping treatment because of side effects or death: 4%, 12% and 8% vs 5%. Deaths: 2, 3 and 1 across the three doses vs 1 with placebo, all judged unrelated to the study drug by the investigators.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Participants all had type 2 diabetes and were already on stable treatment, so results may not match people without diabetes. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Bellido V 2026

CagriSema (cagrilintide plus semaglutide)

REDEFINE 1

  • CagriSema (cagrilintide 2.4 mg plus semaglutide 2.4 mg) weekly−20.4%
  • Placebo−3.0%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
3,417 adults with obesity, or overweight plus an obesity-related condition, without diabetes
Length
68 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with lifestyle support in all groups. Semaglutide-alone and cagrilintide-alone groups were also included
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 68
Analysis approach
Treatment-policy estimand: effects regardless of treatment discontinuation
Other results
The gap from placebo was 17.3 percentage points. More people on CagriSema than placebo reached weight losses of at least 5%, 20%, 25% and 30% (percentages are in the full paper).
Safety
Gastrointestinal side effects affected 79.6% on CagriSema vs 39.9% on placebo. They were mostly temporary and mild to moderate.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Participants did not have diabetes. The semaglutide-alone and cagrilintide-alone results are not shown here because the abstract does not list them. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Garvey WT 2025

REDEFINE 2

  • CagriSema (cagrilintide 2.4 mg plus semaglutide 2.4 mg) weekly−13.7%
  • Placebo−3.4%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
1,206 adults with obesity or overweight and type 2 diabetes
Length
68 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with lifestyle support in both groups
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 68
Analysis approach
Treatment-policy estimand: effects regardless of treatment discontinuation
Other results
The gap from placebo was 10.4 percentage points. A blood sugar level (HbA1c) of 6.5% or lower was reached by 73.5% on CagriSema vs 15.9% on placebo.
Safety
Gastrointestinal side effects affected 72.5% on CagriSema vs 34.4% on placebo. Most were temporary and mild or moderate.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. All participants had type 2 diabetes, so results may not match people without it. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Davies MJ 2025

Maridebart cafraglutide

MariTide phase 2 (obesity)

  • MariTide, lowest result among the dose groups−12.3%
  • MariTide, highest result among the dose groups−16.2%
  • Placebo−2.5%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
465 adults with obesity, plus a separate group of 127 adults with obesity and type 2 diabetes
Length
52 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Seven MariTide groups tested different amounts (140, 280 or 420 mg), different gaps between doses (every 4 or 8 weeks) and different dose-escalation steps
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 52, adults with obesity
Analysis approach
Treatment-policy estimand: effects regardless of treatment discontinuation
Other results
In the diabetes group, weight change ranged from -8.4% to -12.3% on MariTide vs -1.7% on placebo, and HbA1c fell by 1.2 to 1.6 percentage points vs 0.1 on placebo.
Safety
Gastrointestinal side effects were common. They were less frequent with a lower starting amount and with gradual dose escalation. The authors reported no unexpected safety signals.
Limits
Phase 2, so the groups were small and no single dose group stands for all results. The abstract gives a range across groups, not one figure per group. Funded by the manufacturer. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Jastreboff AM 2025

Phentermine and topiramate

CONQUER

  • Phentermine 7.5 mg plus topiramate 46 mg daily−7.8%
  • Phentermine 15 mg plus topiramate 92 mg daily−9.8%
  • Placebo−1.2%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
2,487 adults with overweight or obesity (BMI 27 to 45) and at least two weight-related conditions
Length
56 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with office-based lifestyle advice in all groups
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 56
Analysis approach
Intention-to-treat, as reported in the abstract
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 62% (lower dose) and 70% (higher dose) vs 21% with placebo. At least 10%: 37% and 48% vs 7%.
Safety
Most common: dry mouth (13% and 21% vs 2% on placebo), tingling or numbness (14% and 21% vs 2%), constipation, insomnia, dizziness and taste changes. Depression-related events: 4% and 7% vs 4%. Anxiety-related events: 5% and 8% vs 3%.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Participants were U.S. adults aged 18 to 70, so results may not match other groups. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Gadde KM 2011

Naltrexone and bupropion

COR-I

  • Naltrexone 16 mg plus bupropion 360 mg daily−5.0%
  • Naltrexone 32 mg plus bupropion 360 mg daily−6.1%
  • Placebo−1.3%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
1,742 adults with obesity, or overweight plus high cholesterol or high blood pressure
Length
56 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with a mild reduced-calorie diet and exercise advice in all groups
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 56
Analysis approach
Last observation carried forward, in participants with a starting and at least one later weight
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 48% (32 mg group) and 39% (16 mg group) vs 16% with placebo. Only about half of participants (50%) completed 56 weeks.
Safety
Nausea was the most common side effect: 29.8% (32 mg group) and 27.2% (16 mg group) vs 5.3% with placebo. Headache, constipation, dizziness, vomiting and dry mouth were also more frequent. Blood pressure rose slightly at first, then fell slightly below the starting level. Depression and suicidality events were not higher than with placebo.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Half of participants did not finish, so the average depends on how missing data were handled. The marketed Contrave amount matches the 32 mg group. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Greenway FL 2010

Survodutide

Survodutide phase 2 (obesity)

  • Survodutide 0.6 mg weekly−6.2%
  • Survodutide 2.4 mg weekly−12.5%
  • Survodutide 3.6 mg weekly−13.2%
  • Survodutide 4.8 mg weekly−14.9%
  • Placebo−2.8%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
386 treated adults with a BMI of 27 or more, without diabetes
Length
46 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Four survodutide groups (0.6, 2.4, 3.6 and 4.8 mg weekly), with 20 weeks of dose increases then 26 weeks at a steady amount
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 46
Analysis approach
Analysed by the dose each person was assigned at the start; data after COVID-19-related stops were censored
Other results
Weight loss rose with the dose. About 60% of participants finished the 46 weeks.
Safety
Side effects were reported by 91% of survodutide recipients and 75% of placebo recipients, mostly in the stomach and gut (75% vs 42%). The authors concluded all tested doses were tolerated.
Limits
Phase 2, so groups were small and the trial was meant to find doses. Many people stopped early, and the result depends on how that was handled. Funded by the manufacturer. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: le Roux CW 2024

SYNCHRONIZE-1

  • Survodutide, up to 3.6 mg weekly−12.2%
  • Survodutide, up to 6.0 mg weekly−13.0%
  • Placebo−5.4%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
725 adults with a BMI of 30 or more, or 27 or more plus an obesity-related condition, without diabetes
Length
76 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with lifestyle counseling in all groups. Survodutide was raised up to 3.6 mg or 6.0 mg weekly
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 76
Analysis approach
Treatment-regimen estimand: effects of taking the medicine as assigned, allowing for early stopping, other weight-loss drugs and a long dose-increase period
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 72.6% (3.6 mg) and 71.9% (6.0 mg) vs 46.3% with placebo.
Safety
Stomach and gut side effects, usually mild to moderate, occurred in 80.9% (3.6 mg) and 89.7% (6.0 mg) of participants vs 47.9% with placebo. No deaths were reported.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. The placebo group also lost a meaningful amount with counseling, so the gap to placebo is smaller than the headline figure. The two survodutide groups differed by under one percentage point on average, while the higher amount had more gut side effects. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: le Roux CW 2026

SYNCHRONIZE-2

  • Survodutide, 3.6 mg weekly−8.2%
  • Survodutide, 6.0 mg weekly−9.8%
  • Placebo−3.9%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
752 adults with type 2 diabetes and a BMI of 27 or more
Length
76 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Survodutide was raised to 3.6 mg or 6.0 mg weekly
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 76, adults with type 2 diabetes
Analysis approach
Treatment-regimen estimand: effects regardless of whether the regimen was stopped or interrupted, or other weight-loss therapy was used
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 57.6% (3.6 mg) and 64.5% (6.0 mg) vs 35.1% with placebo. HbA1c (a blood sugar marker) fell by 0.9 and 0.8 percentage points from a starting 7.4%, vs 0.2 with placebo.
Safety
Stomach and gut side effects, generally mild to moderate and short-lived, occurred in 72.8% (3.6 mg) and 77.7% (6.0 mg) vs 38.6% with placebo.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Weight loss here was smaller than in SYNCHRONIZE-1, which enrolled people without diabetes, so the two sets of figures should not be compared directly. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Wharton S 2026

Mazdutide

GLORY-1

  • Mazdutide 4 mg weekly−11.0%
  • Mazdutide 6 mg weekly−14.0%
  • Placebo+0.3%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
610 adults in China, aged 18 to 75, with a BMI of 28 or more, or 24 to under 28 plus a weight-related condition
Length
48 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Mazdutide 4 mg or 6 mg once weekly. The main comparison was set at week 32, with follow-up to week 48
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 48
Analysis approach
Treatment-policy estimand (stated for the week 32 main analysis): effects regardless of early stopping or new weight-loss therapy
Other results
At week 32 the average change was -10.09% (4 mg) and -12.55% (6 mg) vs +0.45% with placebo. At week 48, weight loss of at least 15% occurred in 35.7% (4 mg) and 49.5% (6 mg) vs 2.0% with placebo.
Safety
Stomach and gut side effects were the most common and mostly mild to moderate. Side effects led to stopping in 1.5% (4 mg), 0.5% (6 mg) and 1.0% (placebo) of participants.
Limits
Conducted only in China, in people with a lower average starting weight (87 kg) than in most Western trials, so percentage figures are not directly comparable with them. Funded by the manufacturer. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Ji L 2025

GLORY-2

  • Mazdutide 9 mg weekly−16.6%
  • Placebo−1.5%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
461 treated adults in China with a BMI of 30 or more (16.1% also had type 2 diabetes)
Length
60 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with a reduced-calorie diet and more physical activity in both groups. Mazdutide 9 mg once weekly
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 60
Analysis approach
The published abstract does not name the estimand
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 84.3% with mazdutide vs 33.1% with placebo.
Safety
Vomiting (53.1% vs 1.3%), nausea (46.9% vs 3.2%) and diarrhea (39.4% vs 6.5%) were the most common side effects, mostly mild to moderate. Side effects led to stopping in 2.9% on mazdutide and 0% on placebo.
Limits
Conducted only in China, in a fairly young group (average age 33.9). Sponsored by the manufacturer. The 9 mg amount is higher than the amounts used in GLORY-1. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Gao L 2026, GLORY-2 trial record (NCT06164873)

Cagrilintide

Cagrilintide phase 2 (obesity)

  • Cagrilintide, lowest result among the dose groups−6.0%
  • Cagrilintide 4.5 mg weekly−10.8%
  • Liraglutide 3.0 mg daily−9.0%
  • Placebo−3.0%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
906 adults without diabetes and with a BMI of 30 or more, or 27 or more plus high blood pressure or abnormal cholesterol
Length
26 weeks
Compared with
Placebo and liraglutide 3.0 mg daily. Five cagrilintide amounts from 0.3 to 4.5 mg once weekly
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 26
Analysis approach
Trial-product estimand: effects if everyone took the treatment as assigned. The authors report similar results under the treatment-policy estimand
Other results
Cagrilintide 4.5 mg beat liraglutide 3.0 mg by 1.8 percentage points (10.8% vs 9.0%).
Safety
Stomach and gut side effects (such as nausea, constipation and diarrhea) occurred in 41% to 63% of people on cagrilintide vs 32% on placebo. Nausea alone was 20% to 47% vs 18%. Injection-site reactions were also more common.
Limits
Phase 2 with a short 26-week treatment period. Funded by the manufacturer. The abstract gives a range across the five cagrilintide groups, not one figure per group. People knew which active medicine they were taking. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Lau DCW 2021

Eloralintide

Eloralintide phase 2 (obesity)

  • Eloralintide 1 mg weekly−9.0%
  • Eloralintide 3 mg weekly−12.0%
  • Eloralintide 6 mg weekly−18.0%
  • Eloralintide 9 mg weekly−20.0%
  • Placebo−0.4%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
263 adults in the U.S. with a BMI of 30 or more, or 27 or more plus a weight-related condition, without type 2 diabetes
Length
48 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Four fixed weekly amounts (1, 3, 6 and 9 mg) and two groups that raised the amount over time (6 to 9 mg and 3 to 9 mg)
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 48
Analysis approach
Efficacy estimand: effects while people were taking the treatment as assigned. This usually shows larger weight loss than analyses that count everyone who stopped
Other results
The escalation groups lost about 20% (6 to 9 mg) and 16% (3 to 9 mg).
Safety
Nausea was the most common side effect: 11% (1 mg), 13% (3 mg), 64% (6 mg), 33% (9 mg), 54% (6 to 9 mg) and 25% (3 to 9 mg) vs 14% with placebo. Fatigue rose with the amount, from 0% at 1 mg to 43% at 9 mg, vs 12% with placebo.
Limits
Phase 2, so groups were small. Funded by the manufacturer. The headline figures use the efficacy estimand, so they likely overstate what people who stop early would see. The group was 78% women and 78% White. Nausea did not rise steadily with the amount, so the groups cannot be ranked by tolerability. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Billings LK 2025

Petrelintide

ZUPREME-1 (petrelintide)

  • Petrelintide 1.0 mg weekly−7.9%
  • Petrelintide 5.0 mg weekly−9.8%
  • Petrelintide 9.0 mg weekly−9.4%
  • Placebo−1.7%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
485 treated adults without type 2 diabetes, with a BMI of 30 or more, or 27 or more plus high blood pressure or abnormal cholesterol
Length
28 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Five weekly amounts from 1.0 to 9.0 mg, given over 42 weeks including dose increases. The main comparison was set at week 28
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 28
Analysis approach
Efficacy estimand: effects while people were taking the treatment as assigned. Missing data were assumed to be missing at random
Other results
The 2.5 mg and 7.0 mg groups lost 7.9% and 9.3%. Weight kept falling to week 42, by up to 10.7% on petrelintide.
Safety
Nausea was the most common side effect: 20% on petrelintide vs 6% on placebo, mostly mild and during dose increases. Vomiting (3% vs 6%), diarrhea (7% vs 7%) and constipation (7% vs 4%) were low. No deaths were reported.
Limits
Phase 2 and a short main comparison at 28 weeks. Funded by the manufacturer. Weight loss at 28 weeks is well below the roughly 20% seen in some other amylin-based trials, though those ran longer and are not head-to-head. Participants and staff knew which maintenance amount was assigned, though not whether it was active drug or placebo. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Garvey WT 2026

Zenagamtide (amycretin)

Zenagamtide (amycretin) phase 1b/2a

  • 60 mg weekly (36 weeks)−24.3%
  • 20 mg weekly (36 weeks)−22.0%
  • Placebo group for the 60 mg part−1.1%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
125 adults aged 18 to 55 with a BMI of 27.0 to 39.9, at one research center in San Antonio, Texas
Length
36 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Several small groups: once-weekly injections raised to 60 mg or 20 mg over 36 weeks, 5 mg over 28 weeks, or 1.25 mg over 20 weeks
What was measured
Estimated average change in body weight at the end of each part
Analysis approach
Estimated mean change from the study's statistical model. A large number of participants left the study early
Other results
5 mg for 28 weeks: -16.2% vs +2.3% placebo. 1.25 mg for 20 weeks: -9.7% vs +2.0% placebo. The 20 mg placebo group changed by +1.9%.
Safety
Stomach and gut side effects were the most common, mostly mild to moderate. Many people withdrew, mostly for reasons the authors said were unrelated to side effects.
Limits
Early-stage study with 101 people on the medicine split across several groups, at one site, with many dropouts. The 60 mg amount is higher than the largest amount (40 mg) later tested in the phase 2 diabetes trial, so these figures should be read as a first look only. Funded by the manufacturer. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Dahl K 2025

VK2735

VENTURE (VK2735 injection)

  • VK2735 2.5 mg weekly−9.1%
  • VK2735 15 mg weekly−14.7%
  • Placebo−1.7%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
176 adults enrolled with obesity, or overweight plus at least one weight-related condition, without diabetes
Length
13 weeks
Compared with
Placebo. Several weekly injection amounts from 2.5 mg to 15 mg
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 13
Analysis approach
Not stated in the abstract
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 93% (130 of 140) of people on VK2735 vs 12% (4 of 34) on placebo.
Safety
The common side effects were in the stomach and gut. The authors report they became less frequent after the amount reached steady state.
Limits
Phase 2 with only 13 weeks of treatment, so it says little about longer-term weight loss. The abstract gives only the lowest and highest amounts, so the groups in between are not shown. Several authors work for the company. People with diabetes were excluded. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Bays HE 2026

VENTURE-Oral (VK2735 tablet)

  • VK2735 15 mg daily−2.3%
  • VK2735 30 mg daily−7.0%
  • VK2735 60 mg daily−8.7%
  • VK2735 90 mg daily−11.1%
  • VK2735 120 mg daily−12.2%
  • Placebo−1.3%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
280 adults enrolled with obesity, or overweight plus at least one weight-related condition
Length
13 weeks
Compared with
Placebo tablet once daily. Five tablet amounts from 15 mg to 120 mg, with the higher amounts reached in steps over the first weeks
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 13, as reported by the company
Analysis approach
Not stated in the company announcement
Other results
Early study dropout was 28% on VK2735 vs 18% on placebo. Stopping because of side effects was 20% vs 13%.
Safety
Nausea and vomiting were more common on VK2735 than on placebo. In the company's table, vomiting reached 35% at the two highest amounts vs 10% on placebo. The company says 98% of drug-related side effects were mild or moderate.
Limits
These figures come from a company press release, not a peer-reviewed paper. The trial lasted 13 weeks, so results cannot be compared with 68-week or 78-week trials. More people stopped the tablet than stopped placebo. The announcement does not say how missing data were handled.

Sources: Viking Therapeutics announces positive top-line results from phase 2 VENTURE-Oral dosing trial of VK2735 tablet formulation in patients with obesity

Pemvidutide

MOMENTUM (pemvidutide, obesity)

  • Pemvidutide 1.2 mg weekly−10.3%
  • Pemvidutide 1.8 mg weekly−11.2%
  • Pemvidutide 2.4 mg weekly−15.6%
  • Placebo−2.2%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
391 adults with obesity, or overweight plus at least one weight-related condition, without diabetes
Length
48 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with diet and exercise in all groups. Pemvidutide 1.2 mg and 1.8 mg weekly with no dose increase, and 2.4 mg weekly after a four-week increase
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 48, as reported by the company
Analysis approach
Not stated in the company announcement
Other results
On 2.4 mg, the company says more than half of people lost at least 15% of body weight and more than 30% lost at least 20%.
Safety
Nausea and vomiting were the most common side effects, mostly mild or moderate. Stopping because of side effects: 6.2% on placebo, 5.1% on 1.2 mg, 19.2% on 1.8 mg and 19.6% on 2.4 mg. One drug-related serious event was reported (vomiting on 2.4 mg).
Limits
These figures come from a company press release. This atlas did not find a peer-reviewed paper for the trial. The 2.4 mg group used a different dose-increase approach, so it differs from the others in more than amount. About one in five people on the two higher amounts stopped because of side effects. No phase 3 obesity trial is registered.

Sources: Altimmune announces positive topline results from MOMENTUM 48-week phase 2 obesity trial of pemvidutide

Diethylpropion

Diethylpropion 12-month trial (Brazil)

  • Diethylpropion 50 mg twice daily−9.8%
  • Placebo−3.2%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
69 otherwise healthy adults with obesity in São Paulo, Brazil, all given a low-calorie diet
Length
26 weeks
Compared with
Placebo for 6 months, then everyone took diethylpropion for another 6 months without blinding. The amount was 50 mg twice a day
What was measured
Average change in body weight at 6 months
Analysis approach
Not stated in the abstract
Other results
At month 12, people on diethylpropion since the start had lost 10.6%. People switched from placebo at month 6 had lost 7.0%. The difference between groups at month 12 was not significant (P = 0.07).
Safety
No differences were seen in blood pressure, pulse, electrocardiogram or psychiatric ratings. Dry mouth and insomnia were the most frequent side effects.
Limits
A small trial at one center in a carefully selected group, as the authors note. Only the first 6 months were placebo-controlled. The 6-month and 12-month durations are longer than the few weeks the U.S. label describes, and 50 mg twice a day is not the schedule on the immediate-release label. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Cercato C 2009

Pramlintide

Pramlintide with phentermine (obesity)

  • Pramlintide 120 mcg three times daily−3.7%
  • Pramlintide plus phentermine 37.5 mg−11.3%
  • Placebo−2.2%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
244 adults with obesity or overweight and no diabetes (88% women, average BMI 37.7), all given lifestyle counseling
Length
24 weeks
Compared with
Placebo injections three times daily, pramlintide 120 mcg three times daily, or pramlintide plus a morning pill (sibutramine 10 mg or phentermine 37.5 mg)
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 24
Analysis approach
Not stated in the abstract
Other results
Pramlintide plus sibutramine 10 mg: -11.1%. Both combinations beat pramlintide alone and placebo (P < 0.001).
Safety
Heart rate rose by 3.1 to 4.5 beats per minute and diastolic blood pressure by 2.7 to 3.5 mm Hg in the two combination groups. Most people stayed within normal blood pressure ranges.
Limits
Not fully blinded: the injection-only groups were single-blind and the combination groups were open-label. The trial was in people without diabetes, which is not the approved use of pramlintide. The pill in one combination arm is a separate drug with its own risks. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Aronne LJ 2010

Orlistat

XENDOS

  • Orlistat 120 mg, three times daily−5.8 kg
  • Placebo−3.0 kg

Average change in body weight, in kilograms. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 10 kilograms.

People studied
3,305 adults with a body mass index of 30 or higher; 79% had normal blood sugar handling and 21% had impaired glucose tolerance
Length
208 weeks (4 years)
Compared with
Placebo, with lifestyle changes in both groups
What was measured
Average weight loss after 4 years, as reported
Analysis approach
Intention to treat. A second analysis that carried baseline weight forward for people who dropped out gave 3.6 kg with orlistat vs 1.4 kg with placebo.
Other results
Type 2 diabetes appeared in 6.2% of people on orlistat vs 9.0% on placebo over 4 years. The difference was found only in the impaired glucose tolerance subgroup.
Safety
Side effects are not summarized in the study abstract. See the official label linked on the orlistat page.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Only 52% of the orlistat group and 34% of the placebo group finished treatment. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Torgerson JS 2004

Liraglutide

SCALE Obesity and Prediabetes

  • Liraglutide 3.0 mg daily−8.4 kg
  • Placebo−2.8 kg

Average change in body weight, in kilograms. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 10 kilograms.

People studied
3,731 adults without type 2 diabetes who had a body mass index of 30 or higher, or 27 or higher with high cholesterol or high blood pressure
Length
56 weeks
Compared with
Placebo, with lifestyle counseling in both groups
What was measured
Average change in body weight at week 56, in kilograms
Analysis approach
Missing values filled in with the last recorded weight (last observation carried forward). The difference was 5.6 kg (95% confidence interval 5.1 to 6.0).
Other results
Weight loss of at least 5%: 63.2% with liraglutide vs 27.1% with placebo. More than 10%: 33.1% vs 10.6%.
Safety
Nausea and diarrhea were the most common side effects and were mostly mild or moderate. Serious events: 6.2% with liraglutide vs 5.0% with placebo.
Limits
Funded by the manufacturer. Participants did not have diabetes. Average starting weight was 106.2 kg and 78.5% were women. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Pi-Sunyer X 2015

Phentermine

Low-dose phentermine before weight-loss surgery

  • Lomaira (phentermine) 8 mg, three times daily−4.7%
  • Placebo−1.1%

Average change in body weight. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 25 percent.

People studied
53 adults waiting for gastric bypass or sleeve gastrectomy; 45 finished. Average body mass index 48.4; 91% were women
Length
14 weeks
Compared with
Placebo
What was measured
Average percent total weight loss over 14 weeks
Analysis approach
As reported in the abstract. The same trial found average weight loss of 6.2 kg with phentermine vs 1.1 kg with placebo.
Other results
Operating time and complications after surgery did not differ between the groups.
Safety
Side effects are not summarized in the study abstract. See the official Lomaira label linked on the phentermine page.
Limits
Small trial in people about to have surgery, so it does not describe results for the general population. It lasted 14 weeks, which is short. Group averages do not predict one person's result.

Sources: Garcia L 2025, Lomaira (phentermine hydrochloride) tablets: prescribing information

Setmelanotide

Setmelanotide in POMC and LEPR deficiency

  • POMC deficiency (10 people)80%
  • LEPR deficiency (11 people)45%

Share of people who lost at least 10% of their body weight at about 1 year. Every bar uses one scale, 0 to 100 percent.

People studied
10 people with POMC deficiency obesity and 11 with LEPR deficiency obesity, age 6 and older, in two separate trials
Length
52 weeks (about 1 year)
Compared with
None. These were open-label trials with no placebo group for the main result.
What was measured
Share of people who lost at least 10% of their body weight at about 1 year
Analysis approach
Everyone who received at least one dose and had a baseline measurement was counted.
Other results
Average change in the most-hunger score: down 27.1% in the POMC trial and down 43.7% in the LEPR trial (7 people in each analysis).
Safety
Injection site reactions occurred in everyone in both trials. Skin darkening was reported in all 10 people in the POMC trial. Nausea occurred in 5 of 10 (POMC) and 4 of 11 (LEPR). No serious treatment-related events were reported.
Limits
Very small trials, which is expected for such rare conditions. There was no comparison group for the main result. Funded by the manufacturer. These results apply only to the genetic conditions studied.

Sources: Clément K 2020, Imcivree (setmelanotide) injection: prescribing information

Other evidence noted

  • An indirect comparison of tirzepatide and semaglutide exists (Ciudin A, et al. Int J Obes (Lond). 2026. An indirect comparison, not a head-to-head trial. Most authors are employees of the tirzepatide manufacturer, so it is weaker evidence than a head-to-head trial.)
  • A post hoc analysis of ATTAIN-1 looked at long-term diabetes and cardiovascular risk predictions. It is not a new trial result and is listed in the sources only.

Sources

  1. Once-weekly semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 1) Wilding JPH, et al. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(11):989-1002. PMID 33567185. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  2. Two-year effects of semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (STEP 5) Garvey WT, et al. Nat Med. 2022;28(10):2083-2091. PMID 36216945. Funding: Novo Nordisk (authors include company employees). Journal article
  3. Oral semaglutide at a dose of 25 mg in adults with overweight or obesity (OASIS 4) Wharton S, et al. N Engl J Med. 2025;393(11):1077-1087. PMID 40934115. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  4. FDA approves Wegovy pill, the first oral GLP-1 to treat obesity Healio. Trade press. Reports on-treatment OASIS 4 figures and how the pill is taken. Not the label. Trade press, secondary source
  5. Effect of weekly subcutaneous semaglutide vs daily liraglutide on body weight in adults with overweight or obesity without diabetes (STEP 8) Rubino DM, et al. JAMA. 2022;327(2):138-150. PMID 35015037. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  6. Once-weekly semaglutide 7.2 mg in adults with obesity (STEP UP) Wharton S, et al. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2025;13(11):949-963. PMID 40961952. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  7. Wegovy HD (semaglutide 7.2 mg) approved in the US, providing 20.7% mean weight loss Novo Nordisk company announcement, March 19, 2026. Company announcement; not peer reviewed. Company announcement, not peer reviewed
  8. Tirzepatide once weekly for the treatment of obesity (SURMOUNT-1) Jastreboff AM, et al. N Engl J Med. 2022;387(3):205-216. PMID 35658024. Funding: Eli Lilly. Journal article
  9. Tirzepatide as compared with semaglutide for the treatment of obesity (SURMOUNT-5) Aronne LJ, et al. N Engl J Med. 2025;393(1):26-36. PMID 40353578. Funding: Eli Lilly. Journal article
  10. Orforglipron, an oral small-molecule GLP-1 receptor agonist for obesity treatment (ATTAIN-1) Wharton S, et al. N Engl J Med. 2025;393(18):1796-1806. PMID 40960239. Funding: Eli Lilly. Journal article
  11. ATTAIN-1 trial record (NCT05869903) ClinicalTrials.gov identifier NCT05869903. Trial registry
  12. Foundayo (orforglipron) tablets: prescribing information Eli Lilly and Company, on DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Label version 7/2026. Official FDA label on DailyMed
  13. Triple-hormone-receptor agonist retatrutide for obesity, a phase 2 trial Jastreboff AM, et al. N Engl J Med. 2023;389(6):514-526. PMID 37366315. Funding: Eli Lilly. Journal article
  14. Retatrutide, a triple hormone receptor agonist, for treatment of obesity (TRIUMPH-1) Jastreboff AM, et al. N Engl J Med. Published September 29, 2026. PMID 42814954. Funding: Eli Lilly. Journal article
  15. TRIUMPH-1 trial record (NCT05929066) ClinicalTrials.gov identifier NCT05929066. Trial registry
  16. Retatrutide in adults with obesity and type 2 diabetes (TRIUMPH-2) Bellido V, et al. Lancet. 2026;408(10563):1455-1472. PMID 42810372. Funding: Eli Lilly. Journal article
  17. Coadministered cagrilintide and semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity (REDEFINE 1) Garvey WT, et al. N Engl J Med. 2025;393(7):635-647. PMID 40544433. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  18. Cagrilintide-semaglutide in adults with overweight or obesity and type 2 diabetes (REDEFINE 2) Davies MJ, et al. N Engl J Med. 2025;393(7):648-659. PMID 40544432. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  19. Once-monthly maridebart cafraglutide for the treatment of obesity, a phase 2 trial Jastreboff AM, et al. N Engl J Med. 2025;393(9):843-857. PMID 40549887. Funding: Amgen. Journal article
  20. Effects of low-dose, controlled-release, phentermine plus topiramate combination on weight and associated comorbidities in overweight and obese adults (CONQUER) Gadde KM, et al. Lancet. 2011;377(9774):1341-1352. PMID 21481449. Funding: Vivus. Journal article
  21. Effect of naltrexone plus bupropion on weight loss in overweight and obese adults (COR-I) Greenway FL, et al. Lancet. 2010;376(9741):595-605. PMID 20673995. Funding: Orexigen Therapeutics. Journal article
  22. Glucagon and GLP-1 receptor dual agonist survodutide for obesity: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, dose-finding phase 2 trial le Roux CW, et al. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2024;12(3):162-173. PMID 38330987. Funding: Boehringer Ingelheim. Journal article
  23. Survodutide once weekly for the treatment of adults with obesity (SYNCHRONIZE-1) le Roux CW, et al. N Engl J Med. 2026;395(8):776-787. PMID 42253238. Funding: Boehringer Ingelheim. Journal article
  24. Survodutide once weekly in adults with obesity and type 2 diabetes (SYNCHRONIZE-2) Wharton S, et al. N Engl J Med. 2026. PMID 42820639. Funding: Boehringer Ingelheim. Journal article
  25. Once-weekly mazdutide in Chinese adults with obesity or overweight (GLORY-1) Ji L, et al. N Engl J Med. 2025;392(22):2215-2225. PMID 40421736. Funding: Innovent Biologics. Journal article
  26. Treatment with 9-mg mazdutide for weight reduction in Chinese adults with obesity: the GLORY-2 randomized clinical trial Gao L, et al. JAMA. 2026;336(5):377-388. PMID 42251595. Funding: Innovent Biologics (trial sponsor). Journal article
  27. GLORY-2 trial record (NCT06164873) ClinicalTrials.gov identifier NCT06164873. Sponsor: Innovent Biologics. Trial registry
  28. Once-weekly cagrilintide for weight management in people with overweight and obesity: a multicentre, randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled and active-controlled, dose-finding phase 2 trial Lau DCW, et al. Lancet. 2021;398(10317):2160-2172. PMID 34798060. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  29. Eloralintide, a selective amylin receptor agonist for the treatment of obesity: a 48-week phase 2, multicentre, double-blind, randomised, placebo-controlled trial Billings LK, et al. Lancet. 2025;406(10520):2631-2643. PMID 41207310. Funding: Eli Lilly. Journal article
  30. Petrelintide, a human amylin analogue for the treatment of obesity (ZUPREME 1): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 2 trial Garvey WT, et al. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2026;14(11):914-926. PMID 42810355. Funding: Zealand Pharma. Journal article
  31. Amycretin, a novel, unimolecular GLP-1 and amylin receptor agonist administered subcutaneously: results from a phase 1b/2a randomised controlled study Dahl K, et al. Lancet. 2025;406(10499):149-162. PMID 40550231. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  32. Weekly subcutaneous VK2735, a GIP/GLP-1 receptor dual agonist, for weight management: phase 2, randomized, 13-week VENTURE study Bays HE, et al. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2026;34(3):537-549. PMID 41508550. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Several authors are Viking Therapeutics employees. Journal article
  33. Viking Therapeutics announces positive top-line results from phase 2 VENTURE-Oral dosing trial of VK2735 tablet formulation in patients with obesity Viking Therapeutics press release, August 19, 2025. Company announcement; not peer reviewed. Trade press, secondary source
  34. Altimmune announces positive topline results from MOMENTUM 48-week phase 2 obesity trial of pemvidutide Altimmune press release, November 30, 2023. Company announcement; not peer reviewed. Trade press, secondary source
  35. A randomized double-blind placebo-controlled study of the long-term efficacy and safety of diethylpropion in the treatment of obese subjects Cercato C, et al. Int J Obes (Lond). 2009;33(8):857-865. PMID 19564877. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
  36. Enhanced weight loss following coadministration of pramlintide with sibutramine or phentermine in a multicenter trial Aronne LJ, et al. Obesity (Silver Spring). 2010;18(9):1739-1746. PMID 20094043. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
  37. XENical in the prevention of diabetes in obese subjects (XENDOS) study Torgerson JS, et al. Diabetes Care. 2004;27(1):155-161. PMID 14693982. Funding: Roche. Journal article
  38. A randomized, controlled trial of 3.0 mg of liraglutide in weight management (SCALE Obesity and Prediabetes) Pi-Sunyer X, et al. N Engl J Med. 2015;373(1):11-22. PMID 26132939. Funding: Novo Nordisk. Journal article
  39. Utilization of low-dose phentermine for weight loss prior to metabolic and bariatric surgery: a prospective, randomized, and placebo-controlled trial Garcia L, Rivas H, Morton J. Obes Sci Pract. 2025;11(1):e70043. PMID 39830713. Journal article
  40. Lomaira (phentermine hydrochloride) tablets: prescribing information KVK-Tech, Inc., on DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). FDA-approved label revised 12/2023. Official FDA label on DailyMed
  41. Efficacy and safety of setmelanotide, an MC4R agonist, in individuals with severe obesity due to LEPR or POMC deficiency: single-arm, open-label, multicentre, phase 3 trials Clément K, et al. Lancet Diabetes Endocrinol. 2020;8(12):960-970. PMID 33137293. Funding: Rhythm Pharmaceuticals. Journal article
  42. Imcivree (setmelanotide) injection: prescribing information Rhythm Pharmaceuticals, Inc., on DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). FDA-approved label, April 2026 listing. Official FDA label on DailyMed
  43. Indirect comparative efficacy and safety of tirzepatide vs semaglutide for the treatment of obesity or overweight in patients without type 2 diabetes Ciudin A, et al. Int J Obes (Lond). 2026. PMID 42806056. Funding: Most authors are employees of Eli Lilly. An indirect comparison, not a head-to-head trial. Journal article
  44. Predicting the long-term risk of type 2 diabetes and cardiovascular disease with orforglipron in people with overweight or obesity: a post hoc analysis of ATTAIN-1 Shinde S, et al. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2026. PMID 42750540. Funding: Eli Lilly (authors include company employees). Journal article