Protein and strength reference
Enter a weight to see the protein ranges from a 2025 expert advisory written out in grams, and what the published sources say about strength training. These are reference points from guidance. They are not a target for you and they were not tested as targets in people taking these medicines.
Protein reference points, in grams
Enter a weight and the reference points will appear here.
Read this before using the numbers. These ranges come from an expert advisory. They are proposals, not results from trials that compared protein amounts in people on these medicines, and the Atlas did not find such a trial. Extra protein without strength training probably does not protect muscle. Anyone with kidney disease or a history of kidney stones should ask a clinician before changing protein intake.
What the sources say about strength training
| Reference point | What it is |
|---|---|
| At least 150 minutes a week | The World Health Organization's general guideline for adults: moderate physical activity, plus muscle strengthening, which it says benefits everyone. A general guideline, not advice for people on these medicines. |
| Strength training first | The 2025 advisory says structured strength training, or strength plus aerobic work, is well established to help preserve lean mass during weight loss. Aerobic activity alone has a smaller effect. |
| 360 minutes a week | An example the advisory cites from retrospective studies of people on these medicines, with an emphasis on strength work. It describes what was studied. It is not a target. |
| Resistance exercise three times a week | The plan of the LEAN-PREP trial, which is randomizing 232 adults starting semaglutide or tirzepatide to home resistance exercise, more protein, both, or usual care for six months. The Atlas found the plan only, not results. |
How much of the weight lost was lean mass
A 2026 review pooled 20 randomized trials with 15,782 adults. Lean mass includes muscle but also water, bone and organs, so these figures do not equal muscle lost. The review was about body composition, not protein amounts.
Share of total weight lost that was lean mass, by group, from the pooled review. Programs that added resistance training had the lowest share.
Questions to bring to a clinician or dietitian
- What daily protein range makes sense for my weight, kidneys and appetite?
- Which body weight should the range be based on?
- Should I use protein shakes, and which kinds suit my stomach?
- What kind and amount of exercise is safe for me to start with?
- Can you refer me to a dietitian and a strength-training program?
Read more on the protein page and the exercise and strength page, or see how muscle is protected on treatment. This is educational information and not medical advice.
Sources
- Nutritional priorities to support GLP-1 therapy for obesity: a joint advisory from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, the American Society for Nutrition, the Obesity Medicine Association, and the Obesity Society Mozaffarian D, et al. Obes Pillars. 2025;15:100181. PMID 40673264. Funding: Professional societies; several authors report industry relationships. Journal article
- Lean mass changes with incretin therapy versus lifestyle intervention: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials Eisa N, Barood O. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2026;28(6):4818-4827. PMID 41877354. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Effect of whey protein supplementation in postmenopausal women: a systematic review and meta-analysis Kuo YY, et al. Nutrients. 2022;14(19):4210. PMID 36235862. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Healthy weight loss maintenance with exercise, liraglutide, or both combined Lundgren JR, et al. N Engl J Med. 2021;384(18):1719-1730. PMID 33951361. Funding: Novo Nordisk Foundation and others. Journal article
- LEAN mass Preservation with Resistance Exercise and Protein during semaglutide and tirzepatide therapy (LEAN-PREP study): a protocol for a randomised controlled trial Alawadhi AA, et al. BMJ Open. 2026;16(4):e116911. PMID 42020128. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- WHO fact sheet: Physical activity World Health Organization. Page dated 26 June 2024. Regulator