Protein and high-protein eating
Quick answer. Protein helps protect muscle during weight loss, and a smaller appetite can make it hard to eat enough. Experts have proposed 1.2 to 1.6 grams per kilogram of body weight a day, or a simple 80 to 120 grams a day. Those are proposals and have not been tested as targets in people on these medicines. Extra protein without strength training probably does not protect muscle.
What it is
This page covers how much protein experts have proposed, what the evidence says about it, and what people in communities do. Chapter 8 of the beginner guide has the practical food ideas, and chapter 9 covers muscle in more depth.
What trials show
The Atlas did not find a randomized trial that compared different protein amounts in people taking GLP-1 medicines. What exists is related evidence.
A 2026 review pooled 20 randomized trials with 15,782 adults to look at how much of the weight lost was lean mass, which includes muscle but also water, bone and organs. With semaglutide, 35.2% of the weight lost was lean mass. With tirzepatide it was 25.4%, and with liraglutide 26.8%. Lifestyle programs without these medicines lost a similar share, 26.2%. Programs that added resistance training did best, at 17.5%. The review was about strength training and body composition, not about protein amounts, but its authors say protein intake and resistance training both belong in treatment programs.
A 2022 review looked at whey protein supplements in postmenopausal women across 10 trials. Whey protein added to resistance training improved lower-limb lean mass and biceps strength. Without resistance training, whey protein did not make a significant difference to muscle strength or lean mass. This is the closest evidence to the question of whether extra protein alone protects muscle, and it was not tested in people on these medicines.
What experts say about protein with a GLP-1 medicine
The 2025 advisory gives several reference points. The standard U.S. recommended allowance for adults is 0.8 grams per kilogram of body weight per day. Higher targets of 1.2 to 1.6 g/kg a day have been proposed during active weight loss, and 1.2 to 1.7 g/kg for people doing strength training. Intake below about 0.4 to 0.5 g/kg a day risks muscle loss, and staying above 2 g/kg for long periods should be avoided.
It also says the right body weight to use is unclear, because actual weight can overstate the need in people with obesity. As a practical shortcut it mentions a fixed target of 80 to 120 grams a day. As arithmetic only, 1.2 to 1.6 g/kg for someone weighing 90 kg works out to 108 to 144 grams, which shows why a fixed range is sometimes used instead. Your own number is a question for a dietitian.
The advisory is firm that extra protein alone is likely not enough to protect muscle without structured strength training, and that protein beyond what muscles need can be converted to fat by the liver. For people with a history of kidney stones it advises avoiding high-oxalate foods, highly processed foods and animal-source proteins.
On electrolytes, the Atlas found no trial or guideline recommending electrolyte supplements for people on these medicines. What the official Wegovy and Zepbound labels do say is that vomiting, diarrhea and dehydration can lead to acute kidney injury, so persistent fluid loss is a reason to call your prescriber.
What people report
Protein is one of the most discussed topics in communities of people on GLP-1 medicines. People commonly describe tracking grams in an app, eating the protein part of a meal first, and relying on protein shakes, Greek yogurt, cottage cheese and eggs when food has little appeal. Some say shakes upset their stomach or make them feel too full to eat anything else.
Many also talk about electrolyte drinks and added salt, especially on low-appetite days or when they feel dizzy or tired. Nobody measured whether that helps, and the reasons for feeling that way vary.
Treat this as people sharing what they do, not as results. Many protein and electrolyte products are marketed to people on these medicines, and marketing claims are not evidence.
Who needs to be careful
- Anyone with kidney disease or a history of kidney stones, who should ask about protein and supplements first.
- Anyone vomiting, with diarrhea or unable to keep fluids down, who should call the prescriber about dehydration.
- Anyone with diabetes taking glucose-lowering medicines, where eating patterns can change doses.
Questions to bring to a clinician or dietitian
- What daily protein range makes sense for my weight, kidneys and appetite?
- Should I use protein shakes, and which kinds suit my stomach?
- Do I need electrolytes or supplements, or should I just drink more fluids?
- Can you refer me to a dietitian and a strength-training program?
What is still unknown
- The best protein amount for people on these medicines has not been tested.
- Whether protein supplements help beyond ordinary food is unknown.
- Whether electrolyte supplements help or harm on these medicines is untested.
- Which body weight to base protein targets on is unsettled.
Related pages
Sources
- Lean mass changes with incretin therapy versus lifestyle intervention: a systematic review and meta-analysis of randomised controlled trials Eisa N, Barood O. Diabetes Obes Metab. 2026;28(6):4818-4827. PMID 41877354. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Effect of whey protein supplementation in postmenopausal women: a systematic review and meta-analysis Kuo YY, et al. Nutrients. 2022;14(19):4210. PMID 36235862. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Nutritional priorities to support GLP-1 therapy for obesity: a joint advisory from the American College of Lifestyle Medicine, the American Society for Nutrition, the Obesity Medicine Association, and the Obesity Society Mozaffarian D, et al. Obes Pillars. 2025;15:100181. PMID 40673264. Funding: Professional societies; several authors report industry relationships. Journal article
- Wegovy (semaglutide) injection and tablets: prescribing information Novo Nordisk, on DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Label version 6/2026. One label covers both the injection and the tablets. Official FDA label on DailyMed
- Zepbound (tirzepatide) injection: prescribing information Eli Lilly and Company, on DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Label version 8/2026. Official FDA label on DailyMed