Compounded GLP-1s: what FDA safety reports show, and what they cannot

Quick answer. As of May 31, 2026, the FDA had 990 adverse event reports for compounded semaglutide and more than 730 for compounded tirzepatide. A report is a claim that something happened, not a confirmed case, and the FDA says the counts are likely too low because some pharmacies are not required to report. The counts cannot show how often problems happen or compare compounded and approved products. The FDA describes dosing errors, doses above the label and digestive effects. Published tests, two of them by makers of the approved medicines, found impurities, and no trial compares a compounded product with the approved one.
What the numbers are
The FDA page on unapproved GLP-1 drugs reports the adverse event reports it had received as of May 31, 2026: 990 for compounded semaglutide and more than 730 for compounded tirzepatide. The page presents them as reports submitted to the FDA and not as confirmed cases. It says some dosing-error reports led to hospitalization. In the sections the Atlas read, it does not say how many reports involved hospitalization.
The page was current as of October 1, 2026. The compounded versus brand-name page covers the rest of what the FDA says about these products. This page is about the reports themselves.
How to read a report count
The FDA explains how to read the counts from its adverse event system on its public dashboard page. In plain terms:
- A report does not prove the drug caused the event. The cause could be the underlying disease, another medicine or something else, and the FDA has not necessarily verified what the reporter saw.
- The same case can be reported more than once, for example by a consumer and by a manufacturer, and counts can change as data are updated.
- There is no denominator. The system does not record how many people used a product, so a count cannot say how common a problem is.
- Reporting is largely voluntary and many side effects are never reported. Press coverage and how long a product has been sold can change how many reports arrive.
- Counts cannot be used to estimate how often a side effect occurs or to compare the safety of different products.
Why compounded counts are probably low
The FDA page says federal law does not require state-licensed pharmacies that are not outsourcing facilities to report adverse events, so underreporting is likely. It also says it is not always possible to tell whether the drug caused an event or other factors contributed.
A 2025 study of a large primary-care dataset found documented compounded GLP-1 use in about 8% of patients while surveys suggested far more people use them. If clinicians often do not know a patient is on a compounded product, a problem is less likely to be reported as one.
What kinds of problems are reported
| Type of problem | What the FDA describes | What published reports add |
|---|---|---|
| Dosing errors | Patients measuring and giving themselves the wrong dose, and in some reports clinicians miscalculating a dose. The July 2024 alert describes patients drawing up more than prescribed from multiple-dose vials, confusion between units, milliliters and milligrams, and errors converting between them. Some patients were hospitalized. | A 2023 poison center series of three people described two ten-fold self-administration errors, with nausea, vomiting and abdominal pain lasting days. One needed an anti-nausea medicine and intravenous fluids. A 2026 case report described a person who needed four days of breathing support after severe swelling of the airway following a first compounded injection and later reported injecting a ten-fold dose. The authors judged the swelling most consistent with a reaction to the medicine. |
| Doses above the label | Reports of more product per dose, more frequent dosing or faster dose increases than the approved labels describe. The FDA says some were serious. | The Atlas did not find a published analysis of these reports. |
| Digestive effects | Nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain and constipation, with some people seeking medical care. The FDA says many reported events appear consistent with those seen with the approved versions. | The approved labels list digestive reactions among the most common reactions to the approved medicines. |
| Other effects in the 2024 alert | Fainting, headache, migraine, dehydration, acute pancreatitis and gallstones. The alert does not say how many reports involved each. | Pancreatitis and gallbladder disease are listed as warnings on the approved labels. |
| Fraudulent or mislabeled products | The FDA describes one report of redness, swelling and a lump at the injection site tied to a product labeled as compounded tirzepatide from a pharmacy that did not make it, plus counterfeit Ozempic and compounded products with false label information in the U.S. supply. | A 2024 test of products from illegal online sellers found products that did not match their labels (see the table of studies below). |
The FDA does not rank these problem types by number in the sections the Atlas read.
A timeline of FDA actions
| Date | What happened |
|---|---|
| July 26, 2024 | The FDA posts an alert about dosing errors with compounded injectable semaglutide, describing patient measuring errors and provider calculation errors. |
| October 2, 2024 | The FDA states the tirzepatide shortage is resolved. It re-evaluated and issued a new decision on December 19, 2024. |
| February 21, 2025 | The FDA states the semaglutide shortage is resolved. |
| March 2025 | The FDA's temporary leniency for compounding tirzepatide ends. Its page ties the end for patient-specific pharmacies to a March 5, 2025 court denial, and for large outsourcing facilities it names March 19, 2025. |
| April and May 2025 | The leniency for compounding semaglutide ends after a court denial on April 24, 2025 for patient-specific pharmacies, and the FDA names May 22, 2025 for outsourcing facilities. |
| September 9, 2025 | The FDA sends a warning letter to a Germany-based online seller. It cites unapproved retatrutide products and says marketing for semaglutide and tirzepatide products falsely implied they were equivalent to approved drugs. |
| February 20, 2026 (made public March 3, 2026) | The FDA sends 30 warning letters to telehealth firms. Fierce Pharma reports they cited claims that compounded products had the same ingredients as the approved drugs or had been tested in clinical trials. Recipients had 15 days to respond. |
| April 30, 2026 | The FDA proposes excluding semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B bulks list. Comments were open until June 29, 2026. It was a proposal, not a final decision, when the Atlas read it. |
| May 31, 2026 | The date of the report counts above. |
| September 10, 2026 | A law-firm summary reports that a federal appeals court upheld the FDA decisions that the shortages had ended. The Atlas has not read the decision itself. |
| October 1, 2026 | The FDA's page on unapproved GLP-1 drugs shows content current as of this date. |
Dates are as the FDA pages and news reports state them. A warning letter is an FDA allegation and not a court finding. Rules change, so check current sources.
What published studies found about compounded products
Several studies tested or described compounded and online products. Who did the work matters, so the table says.
| Study | What it examined | What it found | What to know |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ashraf and colleagues, JAMA Network Open, 2024 | Semaglutide bought from six websites that sold it without a prescription | Three of the six websites delivered, and the other three were nondelivery scams that asked for extra payment. All delivered samples contained semaglutide, but purity was 7% to 14% against an advertised 99%, some samples held 29% to 39% more than the labeled amount, and one sample had a raised endotoxin level, a possible sign of contamination. | A small sample from sellers that require no prescription, not licensed pharmacies. The PubMed record has no abstract, so the Atlas took these figures from news coverage of the paper. |
| Kopp and colleagues, Pharmaceutical Research, 2026 | Laboratory tests of follow-on and compounded semaglutide and liraglutide products | Different impurity profiles from the original products, a different number and mix of potentially immunogenic peptides in a laboratory assay, and differences in strength and breakdown for compounded semaglutide after light exposure. | The authors work for Novo Nordisk, which makes the approved semaglutide products. These were laboratory assays, not patients, and the authors call for clinical immunogenicity studies. |
| Jordan and colleagues, Expert Opinion on Drug Safety, 2026 | Compounded tirzepatide combined with vitamin B12, bought in the U.S. market | A widespread impurity that was not previously identified, formed by a chemical reaction between tirzepatide and certain forms of B12. | The authors work for Eli Lilly, which makes the approved tirzepatide products. They say the clinical effects of the impurity are unknown. |
| Belcourt and colleagues, Annals of Pharmacotherapy, 2026 | Compounding sites searched in February and March 2025 for products that differ from approved ones | 33 unique products. 48% contained added ingredients such as B12, glycine, niacinamide, docusate or ondansetron. 18% reported a beyond-use date and storage information. | An editorial based on a web search and not a test of the products. The authors found little justification for some of the added ingredients. |
| Courtney and colleagues, Diabetes and Metabolic Syndrome, 2025 | An opinion paper from a pharmacy society network | Limited data show positive outcomes in small groups on compounded semaglutide or tirzepatide, and significant legal and safety concerns remain because the products are not FDA-approved. If patients choose them, it suggests reputable compounding pharmacies and routine monitoring. | An opinion paper, not a study of outcomes. |
Can the counts say compounded is riskier than brand-name?
No. The FDA says report counts cannot be used to compare the safety of different products, and it gives no count of how many people used each. The Atlas did not find a trial or controlled study that compared a compounded product with the approved one. What the counts and the published tests do show is specific: people have made measuring and calculation errors with vials and syringes, some products did not match their labels, and compounded products are not reviewed by the FDA before they are sold.
What the FDA advises
- Buy only from state-licensed pharmacies, and report problems to the FDA's MedWatch program.
- Patients should confirm with their prescriber or compounder how the intended dose is measured and given, and prescribers should be vigilant when setting doses and titration schedules.
- The compounded versus brand-name page lists the FDA's red flags, and the 503A pharmacy page explains how compounding works. The Atlas does not give mixing or measuring instructions.
Quick answers
- How many adverse event reports has the FDA received for compounded semaglutide?
- As of May 31, 2026, the FDA reported 990 for compounded semaglutide and more than 730 for compounded tirzepatide on its page about unapproved GLP-1 drugs. They are reports, not confirmed cases.
- Does 990 reports mean compounded semaglutide is dangerous?
- The count alone cannot say. The FDA says counts do not show how common a problem is, and they cannot be used to compare products. The reports do point to specific problems such as dosing errors.
- Why does the FDA say the counts are likely too low?
- Reporting is voluntary, and the FDA says federal law does not require state-licensed pharmacies that are not outsourcing facilities to report adverse events.
- What problems does the FDA describe?
- Dosing errors by patients and clinicians, doses above the label and digestive effects such as nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, abdominal pain and constipation. It says many reported events appear consistent with those seen with approved versions.
- Have studies tested compounded GLP-1 products?
- A few. Laboratory tests by the makers of the approved medicines found different impurity profiles, and a small test of illegal online sellers found products that did not match their labels. The Atlas found few independent tests of products from licensed pharmacies.
- Has a trial compared compounded and approved products?
- Not that the Atlas found.
- Where do I report a problem?
- The FDA directs problem reports to its MedWatch program.
- What did the FDA's 30 warning letters in 2026 say?
- Fierce Pharma reports they cited claims that compounded products had the same ingredients as the approved drugs, had been tested in trials or implied FDA approval. A warning letter is an allegation by the FDA and not a court ruling.
Questions to ask
- Is the product you are giving me FDA-approved or compounded, and who makes it?
- Does the strength on the label use the same units as the instructions I was given?
- Who will show me how the amount is measured, and who do I call if the instructions confuse me?
- How will we know if I have a problem, and how do I report it?
- What happens to my plan if the pharmacy or the rules change?
What is still unknown
- The counts come from voluntary reports. They cannot show how often a problem happens or whether the product caused it.
- The FDA's counts do not say how many people used compounded products, so no rate can be calculated.
- The Atlas did not find a trial or controlled study comparing a compounded product with the approved one.
- Two of the published product tests were done by makers of the approved medicines. The Atlas found few independent tests of products from licensed pharmacies.
- The test of online sellers involved illegal sites and a small sample. It does not describe licensed pharmacies.
- Counts, rules and court cases change. The counts here are as of May 31, 2026, and the FDA page they come from was current as of October 1, 2026.
Sources
- FDA's concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Page content current as of October 1, 2026. Adverse event counts are as of May 31, 2026. Regulator
- FDA Adverse Event Reporting System (FAERS) Public Dashboard: frequently asked questions U.S. Food and Drug Administration. The Atlas read the page in October 2026. It explains how to read report counts. Regulator
- FDA alerts health care providers, compounders and patients of dosing errors associated with compounded injectable semaglutide products U.S. Food and Drug Administration compounding alert, July 26, 2024. Regulator
- FDA clarifies policies for compounders as national GLP-1 supply begins to stabilize U.S. Food and Drug Administration. Page shows updates through April 2026; check the page for the current version. Regulator
- FDA proposes to exclude semaglutide, tirzepatide and liraglutide from the 503B bulks list U.S. Food and Drug Administration press announcement, April 30, 2026. A proposal, not a final decision when the Atlas read it. Regulator
- FDA warning letter 715883 to an online seller of compounded GLP-1 products, September 9, 2025 U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research. The Atlas does not name or rate sellers. Regulator
- FDA ramps up crackdown on GLP-1 drug compounding with fresh batch of 30 warning letters Fierce Pharma, March 4, 2026. News report, secondary source. Trade press, secondary source
- Fifth Circuit upholds FDA GLP-1 shortage decisions Clark Hill law-firm news item, September 10, 2026. Secondary summary of an unpublished court decision; the Atlas has not read the decision. Trade press, secondary source
- Documentation of compounded GLP-1 receptor agonists in a large primary care dataset Hendrix N, et al. Pharmacoepidemiol Drug Saf. 2025;34(10):e70227. PMID 41024632. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Administration errors of compounded semaglutide reported to a poison control center: case series Lambson JE, et al. J Am Pharm Assoc. 2023;63(5):1643-1645. PMID 37392810. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Angioedema after accidental semaglutide dosing error: a case report Kraft BD, Matuszak S. J Clin Med. 2026;15(10):3705. PMID 42194666. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Safety and risk assessment of no-prescription online semaglutide purchases Ashraf AR, et al. JAMA Netw Open. 2024;7(8):e2428280. PMID 39093567. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Impurities and potential immunogenicity associated with follow-on and compounded glucagon-like peptide-1 receptor agonists Kopp KL, et al. Pharm Res. 2026;43(8):2861-2886. PMID 42533250. Funding: Authors are employees of Novo Nordisk, which makes the approved semaglutide products. Journal article
- A novel, widespread impurity in mass-compounded tirzepatide/B12 products: potential patient safety implications Jordan B, et al. Expert Opin Drug Saf. 2026;25(5):837-845. PMID 42010938. Funding: Authors are employees of Eli Lilly and Company, which makes the approved tirzepatide products. Journal article
- Compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide products use unique formulations but efficacy and safety largely unknown (editorial) Belcourt J, et al. Ann Pharmacother. 2026;60(9):902-906. PMID 41689811. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Compounded incretins in clinical practice: an opinion of the Endocrine and Metabolism Practice and Research Network of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy Courtney LA, et al. Diabetes Metab Syndr. 2025;19(9):103314. PMID 41176849. Funding: Not stated in the abstract. Journal article
- Wegovy (semaglutide) injection and tablets: prescribing information Novo Nordisk, on DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Label version 6/2026. One label covers both the injection and the tablets. Official FDA label on DailyMed
- Zepbound (tirzepatide) injection: prescribing information Eli Lilly and Company, on DailyMed (U.S. National Library of Medicine). Label version 8/2026. Official FDA label on DailyMed